Bread Pudding for Dinner!

Before my errands this week I was thinking about what to make for dinner last night. For the life of me, I could not figure out what I wanted, which is abnormal. Usually by the end of Sunday night I have a weeks worth of meals planned so I can go grocery shopping. On Tuesday, Logan and I went to our hair appointment then headed to Target. As we were walking around I smelled something that caught my attention, Pumpkin Streusel Bread. I knew exactly what I was going to make for dinner – “Breakfast for Dinner” in the form of a wonderful Bread Pudding.

Doug and I are  fans of the show Chopped on The Food Network Channel, and I always get mad when those competing opt to make bread pudding in the dessert round. It just seems to easy to me. However, I am not opposed to make it for dinner even though most people would argue it is a dessert. If you are one of those people, just call it French Toast Bake, and it makes it acceptable to make for dinner (or even breakfast)!

Bread

This is the wonderful bread I used to make the Bread Pudding!

LCHelper

While I was preparing everything to soak Logan decided he was going to help, but he had to have Mickey and Minnie get it on the cooking as well.

“Breakfast for Dinner” Bread Pudding

(3 servings)

7 Slices Pumpkin Bread, cut into pieces

3 large eggs

1 1/4 c. Milk

2 Tblsp. granulated sugar

splash vanilla

1/4 tsp Cinnamon

sprinkle Pumpkin Pie spice

-Place eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla, and spices to a large bowl then whisk to combine. Add the bread then let soak 2 hours.

Streusel Topping

1 Tblsp. cold butter

1 Tblsp. light brown sugar

1 Tblsp. flour

cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to liking

-cut butter into ingredients

**When ready to bake**

-Preheat oven 350 degrees. Spray (or butter) 3 – 10 oz. Ramekins or a 9×9 baking dish, spoon bread mixture into, top with Streusel topping.

-Bake 30-4o minutes, should puff up and look browned. Insert fork or toothpick to make sure it comes out clean.

FinPro

The finished product is SO good! This one was Logan’s, but he was only able to eat half so he finished it for breakfast.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

