Grandma’s Ribs

Happily, I am done with Spring Semester!! I will have two months of freedom, and be able to read the large stack of books on my bookcase! I go back for a one month Summer Semester to get Biology out of the way, but I am actually looking forward to taking the class!

On Sunday, while everyone was celebrating Cinco de Mayo, I celebrated what would have been my Grandma De Vries’ birthday.

Image

She was such a wonderful person, and taught me to love music as much as she did. I will always cherish all the time spent at the piano with her, and all the times she played the oregon while I ran around the room like a lunatic.

Image

One of the many times we shared ice cream together.

I honor of her birthday I made my favorite recipe she used to make, and have decided to share it with all of you so you can enjoy it as well.

Image

(This picture is half a recipe)

BBQ Beef Short Ribs

4 lbs Beef Ribs

1 c. Ketchup

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/3 c. Vinegar

1/3 c. Brown Sugar

3 Tblsp. Worcestershire Sauce

1 tsp. Dry Mustard

1 tsp. Paprika

4 Tblsp. Chili Powder

1 Onion, sliced

2 Garlic Cloves, minced (I added this)

1 tsp. Lemon Juice

1 c. Water

– Place ribs in large stockpot and cover completely with water. Bring to a boil then let simmer 1 1/2 to 2 hours. (This step cannot be skipped.)

– While the ribs are simmering, combine water, salt, ketchup, vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire, dry mustard, paprika, and chili powder in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil and simmer 5 minutes. Add onion, garlic, and lemon juice bring back to a boil then remove from heat. Let cool in the pan while the ribs finish simmering.

– Once the ribs are done simmering place half the sauce in a greased 9×13. Place the ribs on top of the sauce then pour the rest of the sauce over top. Cover in foil and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minuted to 1 hour.

Image

I served them with homemade garlic mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables. They are the most wonderful ribs ever (that is saying something coming from me considering I am NOT a huge fan of beef), and when the sauce mixes with the mashed potatoes it is heaven. Doug had them for the first time when we were dating, and told me they were the best ribs he had ever eaten!

I am off to get Logan settled at his GiGi’s, so I can go to lunch with my best friend! Japanese food here I come! Enjoyed my treasured recipe all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

