Rainy Day and Blue Bayou Gumbo!

The week, so far, has been almost back to normal! My mom is doing so much better, and it looks like she is almost done with at home nurses coming! I have finally caught up on the majority of my homework, and have begun cleaning my sadly neglected house. Logan is being good, so I figured I better give the house some attention. My kitchen island has looked like a tornado hit it for almost a month, and this would normally drive me crazy. However, I was so tired I could have cared less, but this morning it started to bother me and I went into total house cleaning mode. Now I can officially say Doug will be surprised when he gets home from the farm today!

Image

Logan enjoying Toy Story.

So as I compete prep for tomorrows dinner, and finish my laundry let me tell you about Blue Bayou’s Gumbo from Disneyland. It is the most amazing soup I have ever had, and not just due to the fact I eat it every time I visit The Happiest Place on Earth. This Gumbo is full of flavor, and has so many different textures. Since I discovered the recipe it has become a staple in my household, because Doug completely loves it.

Image

If you go to Blue Bayou, this is the wonderfulness you will be served.

I do not cook my Roux as long, so the color of mine is slightly lighter. This however does not make it less flavorful! The Roux is the first step to the soup, and let me tell you this terrified me. Once I got it down it was no problem.

Image

This is what it looks like, and it tastes fantastic! (Sorry about the picture quality, I could only find Doug’s phone and the camera isn’t as good as my iPhone) So, here it is, the Blue Bayou Gumbo recipe.

Blue Bayou Gumbo

from Disneyland

2 Ounces Roux – 1/4 c. butter and flour

2 Medium Yellow Onions, diced

1 c. Celery, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

8 c. Chicken Broth

12 ounces Meat of choice – Shrimp, sausage, chicken

1 – 6oz diced tomatoes

1/4 tsp. white pepper

1/3 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp Gumbo file

salt to taste

2 c. Cooked Rice

-Bring butter to room temperature then melt on low heat in saucepan, slowly add flour and cook until desired color. Either blonde or golden brown.

-Add onion & celery for 4 minutes, then add garlic for 1 more minute.

-Add the broth to dissolve the Roux, simmer for 10 minutes. Add all ingredients, except the file and shrimp(if using), and simmer 30 minutes.

-Add shrimp and cook until they are a white/pink color, then add the file. Serve over rice and Enjoy!

P.S. I am loving this weather, hope all of you enjoy it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

