Valentine’s Day Sweet Corn Lasagna!

It has been awhile since my last post, my apologies, but the last few weeks have been exhausting. My mother is recovering from two surgeries, and her infection is healing well. Unfortunately she still has a ways to go until she is 100%, and I cannot wait until I have my Mommy back to her normal self.ย 

Being that today is Valentine’s Day I wanted to make something special for my two Valentine’s! As many of you may know my favorite chef is Giada De Laurentiis, and what I made for dinner is one of her recipes. However, this is a special one due to the fact she made it for The Duke and Duchess on their trip to California, which meant I absolutely HAD to try it! This is not just your average lasagna, it is a cheese lovers heaven, and has an amazing texture and flavor. The sweetness is what makes it decadent, but not over powering. As a plus it uses one of my favorites Marscarpone Cheese!

Image

The first step is to make the filling by using a food processor. Once mixed it will look like this.

Image

It may look weird, but trust me it is amazing! Next step is to boil the lasagna noodles, and put them in an “X” pattern.

Image

This one was Logan’s, since he said he wanted the “Blo” ramekin ๐Ÿ™‚ so precious.

Next layer the filling with some cheese, then fold two sheets over. Repeat that step on more time, and top with as much cheese that will fit. (or you could follow the measurements, but I firmly believe too much cheese is impossible)

Image

Here is Doug’s looking beautiful, and ready for the oven. Bake for 30 minutes, and you will have one good looking lasagna!

Image

Once it sits for 10 minutes they slide right out, and stay perfectly formed on the plate to enjoy!

Image

This beauty was mine, and there was NO way I was sharing. So yummy, and had I made more than 3 I’m positive they all would have been eaten!

After we enjoyed our wonderful lasagna, Logan and I gave his Daddy a Valentine’s Day present. 007 Skyfall, now all we need to do is play with little Logan until it’s his bedtime, then we can watch our movie. I am fairly certain Logan is far too young for 007 ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

Sweet Corn Lasagna

6 servings

Adopted from Giada De Laurentiis

12 Lasagna sheets (cooked according to directions on box)

3 c. frozen Corn, thawed

1/2 c. whole milk or heavy cream

3 garlic cloves

1 c. (8oz) Mascarpone Cheese

1 c. (4oz) Cheddar Cheese

1 lemon, zested

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

3/4 c. fresh Spinach

1 c. Mozzarella

-Spray or butter 6 Ramekins (10oz size)

-Preheat oven 375 degrees, cook noodles, then place in “X” shape.

-Blend corn, milk/cream, and garlic until creamy. Add Mascarpone, 1 c. Cheddar, lemon zest, salt, pepper, and Spinach until smooth.

-Spoon 1/4 cup of filling in each ramekin, top with 2 Tablespoons of Mozzarella, then fold over two lasagna sheets. Repeat. If any filling left put it on top and add more cheese. Drizzle with Olive Oil and bake for 30 minutes. Lasagna will be golden brown, bubbly, and beautiful! Let them set 10 minutes, then dig in (with manner of course).

Hope all of you enjoyed Valentine’s Day! I’m off to read my little Valentine his “Hawy Sowies,” which is his way of saying he wants to hear stories about Harry Potter. We are almost done with Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and he already loves them! I am very pleased about this as many of you can imagine. ๐Ÿ™‚ Until next time!

ย 

ย 

Leave a Reply

