Weekend = Brave and Calzones

I woke up at 5 this morning thinking, wow, Monday, again. However, to my surprise I had a ton of energy, and proceeded to make Doug a yummy breakfast. This last weekend was super long and stressful, since we had to go to Costco. So many people, but Logan got to try Egg Nog and loved it! We also took our Christmas picture this weekend, and Logan displayed his unwillingness to cooperate, but we got some good ones. Plus it is coming to the last few weeks of the semester, so that combined with other things is taking a lot out of me.

I made Butternut Mac and Cheese for dinner, making it Logan’s new favorite dish. This is what was left after we pigged out 🙂

Image

Logan decided when he had finished it was time to pass out on the floor before watching Brave. My sweet little baby boy!

Image

Once the kitchen was cleaned up we started our movie, which we all loved! I love that the Disney Company decided to make a princess that is such a strong representation for little girls. Do not get me wrong I love the original princesses, but they needed another princess who can fight. Doug enjoyed watching the movie with Logan, not that it has to do with his heritage or anything:)Image

Logan enjoyed the movie so much, at the end he kept trying to tell me something, and I still have not idea what he was saying. His dancing was also pretty entertaining. (I will post the video on Facebook since I can’t get it to load on the page)

I did my first attempt at Calzones this weekend, and they turned out amazing!! Yummy and cheesy! Image

This was mine, I put black olives, onions, mozzarella, and feta(it looks like it has a happy face). Below is Doug’s, he wanted Italian Chicken Sausage, black olives, onions, mozzarella, and feta.

Image

They were so good, and will be taking the place of homemade pizza. Doug and I can hardly ever agree on toppings, since I prefer the vegetarian route. This way we both can have exactly what we want, and enjoy every single cheese filled bite!

Image

So here is my pizza dough recipe, I use the whole wheat dough because it gives a nice nuttiness to the dough.

1 lb Pizza Dough Recipe

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

Package of yeast (quick rising) 

1 tsp salt

1 Tblsp olive oil in 3/4 cup hot water

-Mix all dry ingredients in food processor, then turn on the processor. Add the hot water/olive oil mixture slowly. Once all combined process 1-2 minutes to knead.

-Take out the dough, wrap in plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray. Let sit at room temperature for 20 minutes. 

-Place on a lightly floured surface then cut the dough into three even pieces. Roll each out to desired thickness.

Calzone Recipe

Take the rolled out pieces and fill with your choice of sauce and filling. Seal them by folding edged and crimping with a fork, cut a vent hole in the top, brush with olive oil. Place Calzoni in a 450 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, watch them though. If they are brown with cheese coming out of the slit to vent they are done.

 

Well, Logan is not happy since his ice cream is 20 minutes late, but at least he enjoyed The Princess and the Frog while I wrote this post! Enjoy the Calzones!

Leave a Reply

