This Week & Tikka Masala

Well, the last couple days have been crazy busy, but I have been starting my day with a wonderful oatmeal recipe I found a few weeks ago.

Image

It has Sweet Potatoes in it, which gives me a little extra energy. Trust me when you have a toddler, that extra energy is needed. Logan is full of SO much energy himself, I am still amazed he does not take a proper nap, but that just means I can put him to bed earlier 🙂 

I was brave on Tuesday and made something for dinner I have been wanting to try for ages, Cornish Game Hen. I was so excited it turned out moist, and not dry at all. YUM!

Image

Plus, to make the dinner even better, Doug said it was one of his new favorite things to have for dinner. I LOVE the fact that Doug prefers poultry, seafood, and vegetarian dishes (like I do), it makes cooking so easy for me!

Switching gears to Logan now:

Last weekend Doug and I decided it was time for Logan to see The Nightmare Before Christmas. We watched it last year, but he was asleep. Within the first 5 minutes we both knew Logan had a new favorite (he is actually watching it again right now).Image

He laughs at Jack, and loves the music. To prepare him for riding The Haunted Mansion Holiday next month, we played the special feature that goes through the ride at Disneyland, which he enjoyed.

 

Today I was brave and made Tikka Masala, and I was pretty nervous about it. The key to this dish is Garam Masala, which is just a spice mix that smells so good.Image

The sauce is easy to make, and it cooks very quickly. Since it has cinnamon in it your house will smell amazing, so it’s a fitting dish for fall. Image

To go with the dish I made Roasted Garlic Cauliflower and Basmati Rice(I added Peas & Turmeric for color). I LOVE Basmati Rice, it is my favorite, the smell of it is just comforting to me.

Once the meal was finished I knew I had another winner. Although Doug was afraid at first he said it was amazing, and is eating the leftovers for dinner. Image

 

What happened to the leftover rice? Well, I could have eaten all the leftover rice(which amounted to 1 cup), but I decided to freeze it instead.  Here are the recipes for Tikka Masala and Turmeric Basmati Rice, hope you like it as much as we did!

 

Tikka Masala (4servings) 

2 tsp canola oil or butter

1 small onion, minced

! Tblsp grated ginger

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups crushed tomatos 

4oz. regular plain yogurt

1/2 cup milk (of choice)

1 Tblsp Cumin

1Tblsp Garam Masala

1 tsp Turmeric (optional)

1/2 Tblsp Chili Powder

salt to taste

16oz. precooked boneless chicken breast

-Heat butter/oil in pan, add onions cook until tender. Add ginger, stir until you can smell then add garlic. Next, add all the spices with salt and cook until able to smell. Add tomatoes, milk, and yogurt. Simmer the sauce until thickened, about 10 minutes. Add chicken to heat through, then serve with rice or Naan.

Basmati Rice Recipe

2 c. Basmati Rice

4 Tblsp butter

1 tsp salt

1/2 Tblsp Turmeric

4 water

2 cups frozen peas

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

